Ceviche

For this month’s Daring Cook’s challenge we had the choice of making one of two Peruvian dishes, ceviche or papas rellenas.

Kathlyn of Bake Like a Ninja was our Daring Cooks’ March 2011 hostess. Kathlyn challenges us to make two classic Peruvian dishes: Ceviche de Pescado from “Peruvian Cooking – Basic Recipes” by Annik Franco Barreau. And Papas Rellenas adapted from a home recipe by Kathlyn’s Spanish teacher, Mayra.

For our challenge we chose to make the ceviche.  The recipe called for a firm white fish, but we decided to make a little change and use tuna.  Last week we were up in Seattle (for our wedding) and ate at Japonessa.  The sushi chef there made us a special tuna and citrus dish that was insanely good.  I took this challenge as a chance to maybe mimic his creation.

Other than substituting the tuna, I pretty much stayed true to the recipe.  Actually that isn’t true.  I realized after eating the ceviche that I forgot that oh so important “salt and pepper to taste” step.  Since I was already late, I was a little scattered making it and forgot the seasoning.  To rectify this brutal mistake we drizzled soy sauce over ours.  Oh, and because the limes I bought were about as moist as the Sahara, I threw in the juice of one blood orange as well (apparently it’s blood orange season down here in San Diego).

Overall the dish was alright.  Even though I tasted the ceviche pretty quickly after tossing it in the lime juice, the citrus had already overtaken the flavor of the tuna.  By the time Dana got a taste (after work) it was REALLY citrusy.

Since I had all of those blood oranges around, I decided to dice a few up and throw it in the ceviche.  It was similar to Japonessa, but still not quite the same.  It did add a nice touch of red to the dish.

Thanks again to Kathlyn for the challenge.  When I get a chance I’ll try out the papas rellenas recipe too!  As always, you can find the recipe on the Daring Kitchen site.

This entry was written by Steve and published on 3.15.11 at 10:48 PM. It’s filed under Daring Cooks, Seafood. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Ceviche

  1. Congratulations on your wedding I hope the honeymoon was great LOL LOL. Tuna ceviche sounds delightful sorry to hear that it was too citrus-y so fast. Nice with the blood orange very colourful.

    Cheers from Audax in Sydney Australia.

Leave a comment